The “Dreamspace” lineup of STRATOVARIUS, which recently reformed under the moniker TIMO TOLKKI’S STRATO, has signed a multi-album deal with ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records! Details of the band’s debut LP, which was previously said to be titled “Return To Dreamspace”, will be revealed soon.

TIMO TOLKKI’S STRATO members Timo Tolkki (vocals and guitar),Tuomo Lassila (drums) and Antti Ikonen (keyboards) recorded the classic “Fright Night”, “Twilight Time”, “Dreamspace” and “Fourth Dimension” albums. Released in 1994, “Dreamspace” was the last STRATOVARIUS album to have Tolkki on lead vocals and includes such fan favorites as “Chasing Shadows”, “Hold On To Your Dream”, “We Are The Future” and “Wings Of Tomorrow”. Tolkki recorded his vocals for the “Fourth Dimension” album demos before deciding to focus on guitar only and recruited Timo Kotipelto as vocalist. “Fourth Dimension” featured a number of standout tracks, including “Against The Wind”, “Distant Skies”, “Galaxies” and “Twilight Symphony”.

In the summer 2022, Tolkki, Lassila and Ikonen met to discuss ideas to reform the original lineup, deciding to call themselves TIMO TOLKKI’S STRATO. In secrecy, they have been rehearsing in Tuomo‘s garage (real back to the roots!) since January 2023. In concert the band will be performing songs from “Return To Dreamspace” as well as from the STRATOVARIUS albums “Fright Night”, “Twilight Time” and “Dreamspace”.

Eric Cerda, the manager of Timo Tolkki, describes the music as “sounding like the classic ‘Dreamspace’ era but updated for the 2020s. Fans of melodic power metal — a genre that these guys pretty much defined — will love the new songs of TIMO TOLKKI’S STRATO, with fans of early STRATOVARIUS being especially pleased.”

  صادرات غلات روسیه به چین افزایش می یابد

Lassila formed STRATOVARIUS in Helsinki 1984 and is responsible together with the original guitar player Staffan Stråhlman for the band’s name STRATOVARIUS. One year later, Tolkki joined the band. STRATOVARIUS released its debut album, “Fright Night” (1989),through CBS Finland. From that started one of the biggest success stories in the history of melodic metal. They defined what is currently known as “power metal” with albums like “Fright Night”, “Twilight Time” (1993),“Dreamspace” (1994) and “Fourth Dimension” (1995).

Tolkki wrote more than 100 songs for the band before leaving the group to embark on a successful solo career back in 2008, and is responsible for writing such power metal anthems like “Black Diamond”, “Hunting High And Low”, “Speed Of Light”, “Paradise”, “Forever” and “Destiny”. More than four million copies of Tolkki-era STRATOVARIUS albums have been sold.


Timo Tolkki – Guitar/Vocals
Tuomo Lassila – Drums/Percussion/Vocals
Antti Ikonen – Keyboards
John Vihervä – Bass

منبع: https://blabbermouth.net/news/timo-tolkkis-strato-signs-with-roar-rock-of-angels-records